Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Automotive Art > Car Modeling > WIP - Motorsports
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
WIP - Motorsports Post topics for any "Work In Process" motorsports vehicles in this sub-forum.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 05-16-2016, 07:08 AM   #1
Cookster007
AF Regular

The Martini Project - Alfa Romeo Giulietta SZ Coda Tronca - 1962 Daytona 3 Hour

I have been hanging around here for a while now, so it is time I put my money and time (what little I have of both...anyone with 3 teenagers will know what I mean ) where my mouth is.

I have been making models on and off for many years, across all genres, but never with a real goal. This is probably why I tended to lose interest from time to time.

My real passion is classic cars, particularly historic racing cars, so I've now set myself a goal (probably beyond the capability of ever finishing it, though). I'm going to try and model a chronological history, in 1/24 scale (as much as possible) of Martini Racing Team and Martini sponsored vehicles (did I mention that I'll probably never be able to complete it? )

So, on with it.

The first vehicle sponsored, or fielded, by The Martini & Rossi Racing Team was the 1961 Alfa Romeo Giulietta SZ Coda Tronca - two of them in fact- in the 1962 Daytona 3 Hour. I'll be starting with the No. 82 vehicle driven by Paul Richards, and finishing 26th overall.

(Image sourced from: www.racingsportscars.com)

I'm using Profil24's Alfa Romeo Giulietta SZ with some additions:

This model will be full of firsts for me as I have never built a resin kit and I will be adding a fair bit of extra detail using materials that I have never used.