Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Toyota > MR2/MR-S
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2002, 11:44 AM   #1
hammyox85
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

Sup all, I am thinking of getting a N/A 1991 MR2 and I was wondering if I were to swap it with a 3SGTE engine Rear Clip would I need to do any modifications to the MR2 or it's engine bay to make the engine work corectly? Thanks! and would the JDM 3SGTE 245HP engine work also?
__________________
This is all the space you give me to smack talk? You have got to be kidding me!
hammyox85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 12:15 PM   #2
bchiles
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lake orion, Michigan
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

I am going to do a similar swap and form the people that I talked to it bolts in... but make sure you have everything that you need
bchiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 02:47 PM   #3
JekylandHyde
AF - Advisor
 
JekylandHyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

Yes it bolts in ... just make sure you have all of the parts you need.
__________________
Sponsorship: Amateur Motorsports <-- Get the book! - books are now available for shipment
JekylandHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 03:51 PM   #4
nbw
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: noneofyourbusiness, Texas
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ive heard more then a few times thats its best to just get the turbo mr2... why is(or was) this?
nbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 03:55 PM   #5
JekylandHyde
AF - Advisor
 
JekylandHyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

... because a swap will never be the same sa when Toyota assembled it. Plus the Turbo comes with a lot of nice other features (fog lights, CD storage ,etc ...)

With the used market the way it is now, it doesn't pay to swap IMO. There are plenty of cheap turbos out there. Heck, I only paid $1750 for Hyde and he was running and inspected when I bought him
__________________
Sponsorship: Amateur Motorsports <-- Get the book! - books are now available for shipment
JekylandHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 11:45 PM   #6
Kaddie
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st charles, Missouri
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

yeah but how much did it cost you to get hyde to a "nice" condition. not counting all the preformance stuff you did to it. mainly to fix anything wrong with it
Kaddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:31 AM   #7
nbw
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: noneofyourbusiness, Texas
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hmm, dont all(or almost all) turbo mk2's come as t-tops?
Way I see it a lighter(and stiffer?) vehicle would be nice :P

btw, I still cant believe you got hyde for $1.7k, thats a complete steal

heh, I'd be ecstatic if I can find a 'nice' na mk1 for 1k localy..
(but thats an intirely dif topic..)
nbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:08 AM   #8
JekylandHyde
AF - Advisor
 
JekylandHyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

MKII's came in T-tops, sunroofs and very few hard tops.

Hyde was a steal and I have a lot of dough into him.
But I could have had him in fine stock running condition for less than $5K total.

nbw ... I am buying a a MK1 for $650 in 2 weeks
It's got a bad engine though.

1986 red sunroof car is coming to the Jekyl Hyde Racing stable.
__________________
Sponsorship: Amateur Motorsports <-- Get the book! - books are now available for shipment
JekylandHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:40 PM   #9
ac427cpe
two wheels
 
ac427cpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to ac427cpe
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

mk1 w/ bad engine.... do i smell another mk1.5?
__________________
hello, i am Dan

No more project cars. I wonder how long that will last...
ac427cpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:50 PM   #10
JekylandHyde
AF - Advisor
 
JekylandHyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

... no no. Not any time soon.

I have an agenda with Hyde. That will be resolved before I build antoher project. This '86 is replacing my current daily driver ... that is all.
__________________
Sponsorship: Amateur Motorsports <-- Get the book! - books are now available for shipment
JekylandHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:04 PM   #11
nbw
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: noneofyourbusiness, Texas
Posts: 391
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

yeah sure thats what they all say...

hehe
nbw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 11:28 PM   #12
ghetto7o2azn
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JekylandHyde
... because a swap will never be the same sa when Toyota assembled it. Plus the Turbo comes with a lot of nice other features (fog lights, CD storage ,etc ...)

With the used market the way it is now, it doesn't pay to swap IMO. There are plenty of cheap turbos out there. Heck, I only paid $1750 for Hyde and he was running and inspected when I bought him
but wut if ur n/a only has 36,000 miles on it and u cant find a turbo in that good shape and you want to do the swap?
ghetto7o2azn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 06:42 AM   #13
JekylandHyde
AF - Advisor
 
JekylandHyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Question about swapping in a 3SGTE in an NA MR2

There are situations were doing a swap may be the ideal choice for your circumstances. Other factors always change things.

Yeah ... a 36,000 mile chasis might be worhht investing into a swap if that is what you really want.

Personally, I would keep the NA cherry and find a beat turbo to play with. You can get a used beat turbo for as much as a rear clip to do a proper swap.
__________________
Sponsorship: Amateur Motorsports <-- Get the book! - books are now available for shipment
JekylandHyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 06:49 PM   #14
ghetto7o2azn
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,515
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thats true
ghetto7o2azn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 03:53 PM   #15
Bendy_Imoc
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carmichael, California
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Bendy_Imoc
I am thinking about doing the same thing with my car swapping the 2nd gen 3sgte into my 91 NA. My engine either need rebuilding or replacing in the next year or so and thats why I'm even thinking of doing the swap. The 91 chasis and engine have around 140,000 miles on them. I think in my situation with one engine going out it's the best time for the new and better one to come in. I don't have too much experience with this but my goal is to get my car running 12's. From what I've read it's not too hard or too expensive if you use some choice mods.

I'd like anyones opinion on this wether they think that I should do the swap and wether my goal of 12's in the quarter are realistic while still being a daily driver. I thought about selling the car and buying a turbo but finding a running turbo for cheap in my area seems to be a challenge.
Bendy_Imoc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
questions about actual 3sgte specs Mee11 Celica 4 07-27-2006 08:15 PM
Question about swap Deadboy '88 - '91 Civic | CRX | Wagon | Shuttlee 13 09-20-2004 11:10 AM
I have a question about swap. ~ls/vtec~ '92-'95 Civic | EL | Civic Hybrid | Civic GX NGV 0 07-23-2003 05:35 AM
qUESTIONS ABOUT THE 92 MR2 92MR2 MR2/MR-S 1 11-08-2002 01:35 PM
a question about swapping engines b18cer Engineering/Technical 1 11-13-2001 01:19 AM

Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Toyota > MR2/MR-S

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts