Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 07-27-2003, 06:13 PM   #1
XixGenuinexiX
AF Enthusiast

In need of HELP!

well as you all know i'm a newbie

and in need of assistance.. here's the situation i might get a used civic around february or sooner
and i would like to do a engine swap to make the car faster...
i'm pretty sure i'm gonna get a 95-98 civic sedan..

what are some good engine swaps with vtec that will fit?

thx ahead i really appreciate it
XixGenuinexiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 07:55 PM   #2
PWMAN
AF Enthusiast

Well 95 and 96 are pretty different. You have to tell me which styling you like better, the 92-95 years, or the 96-00 years. I personally like the 92-95. I would try to find a 95 civic EX. It has to be an EX though. There is tons of aftermarket for this car. I would get one with low miles and put a turbo kit on it. Or if you like the 96-up also get an EX and I suggest getting the Edelbrock turbo kit. This kit will give you plenty of power to walk all over a GSR with bolt-ons, and even beat Type R's.
Engine swaps are much more involved than most people think. It requires a lot of tools and facilities that 90% of most people don't have. Putting a turbo kit on is pretty simple and straight forward and requirse only basic tools.
PWMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 07:58 PM   #3
XixGenuinexiX
AF Enthusiast

my dad was a mechanic in the army
and i really want to go all engine, i need a reliable daily driver