Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Closed Thread Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-06-2005, 10:44 PM   #1
Airplane driver
AF Newbie

I know a car that runs on FREE airplane fuel!!! Not kiding!!!(AVGAS)

I am a pilot and my friend has a 1960~something Ford Maverick. He works at our university's airplane maintenance hangar and has access to avgas siphoned out of our planes for spin training (due to weight limitations). As most of you may not know, it's not too smart to put that fuel back into the planes (because of risk of fuel contamination and debris and what not) so it is usually is discarded.

This fuel is for piston planes (Cessnas etc) not jets, which use a more purified form of kerosine (Jet-A). It is called AVGAS or 100LL (LL for low lead) which is blue in color (for identification purposes) and has a sweet but heavy smell.

This fuel is destined to be burned or dumped somewhere and at many airports you could get that fuel for free.

His car was running rough (bad valves) and with fuel prices so high, he put this 100L he got form our maintenance barrels in his car. The result? A smooth-running sweet-smelling engine!!!

The engine is a carburated 6 banger and has no catalytic converter, so really there isn't much that could go wrong with it. It only runs a few degress hotter, but within limits. I suspect it might produce knocking or pre-ignition eventually, but he says he hasn't experienced any yet. He says it runs way better than with 100 octane gasoline sold in California, probably because of the lead.