Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Corvette
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Corvette
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 04-29-2002, 07:28 AM   #1
Big Jim
AF Newbie

Idle Prob on my TPI, C4

Hello fellow Corvette enthusiusts.

This is my first post here as I am new to the forum. Interestingly, I have a topic on HobbyTalk.com (with the same software format) titled "Ask Big Jim About Motors" and I am an expert in that field. That field being electric motors used in radio controlled cars. I deal with a different kind of "motor" than the one I have a question about and that being the one in my '87 C4. But that's the difference in terminology. You can call an engine a motor but you can't call a motor an engine, or so I'm lead to believe.

Anyway, on to my problem that I hope someone here that is familiar with diagnosing TPI engines can help me with.
The engine has just been professionally rebuilt at a Corvette shop in Santa Ana, CA but I'm not that confident in the shop's work. It has had an idle problem since the day I took it home from there although it does run well at all other rpm ranges.

When I start it cold, it will idle at about 1100 rpm and after a few minutes, will settle down to a computer controlled 600-700 rpm. At that point it starts to surge. The idle will go up and then down. Then start acting like the idle is too low, dipping below 600 rpm but catches itself and readjusts to normal and then it will start all over again. If I shut it off and start it immediately again, it will idle at 1100 rpm for 15-20 seconds before coming down.