Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Geo > Tracker
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 02-16-2007, 03:46 PM   #1
Tst4Eco
AF Newbie

EGR Valve

Hello everyone. I am new to board and was hoping someone would be able to answer a question for me. How long do EGR valves generally last? The reason I am asking is that my wife's tracker's Check Engine Light keeps coming on (we took it into the dealer in September 2005 and they said replaced the EGR valve and a few other components and we went back at total of 5 times in a month and a half for the same code P0400). We found out recently that they removed the check engine light bulb on the fifth time so that we wouldn't go back to them with the same problem. Our mechanic found the bulb missing two weeks ago when he went into to replace the speedometer cable. So, we took it to the emissions referee and he found the EGR valve was stuck solid and wasn't moving properly (our mechanic isn't certified for emissions work so he didn't want to touch anything). Can an EGR valve go bad after a year and a half?

Our thought is that the dealer took our money but didn't actually replace the parts and when we kept going back to them for the light, they just removed the bulb to get rid of us and it wasn't until about two weeks ago that we found the bulb had been removed.

Any information would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
Tst4Eco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2007, 06:06 AM   #2
viperh
AF Regular

Send a message via AIM to viperh Send a message via Yahoo to viperh
Re: EGR Valve

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tst4Eco