Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Buying Q & A
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Car Buying Q & A Ask a question, get an answer; it's that simple. Visit AutomotiveHelper.com for useful car buying tools and research. Also, check out Vehicle History Reports to help you avoid chances of finding a lemon.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 03-11-2013, 03:37 PM   #1
CheddarTrek
AF Newbie

Which Hatchbacks meet these reqs?

Hey guys.

I've always been an SUV person. My first car was a 2-door GMC Jimmy, then I had a 2-door Blazer, and recently I've been driving a Jeep Cherokee since I got it in 2005.

I loved every one of them. But I'm running into an issue now where I'm commuting a lot more than normal. I'm often on the road 3 hours a day and my Jeep is eating through the gas. I've got to get something with better gas mileage.

As far as I can tell that's going to be a hatchback. If I downsize I might as well go to something fairly small since I rarely have people in the car with me (and I'm not very large).

Vital points in vehicle to consider:
  1. Seats in the back must go all the way down. Not angled. I often pull into rest areas to nap in the car and I need to be able to lay down in the back.
  2. 25-30+ MPG
  3. Not a Hybrid or Electric car. I don't trust them, whether that is stupid or not is beside the point.
  4. Approximately the size of a Camry (which I have been borrowing lately and like the size of). I think most Station Wagons are too large (again, if I'm not getting all the benefits of my Jeep I might as well go smaller). Though I don't want something tiny -- I'd prefer a small 5-door than a 2-door I think, but will consider both.