Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio
Car Audio Do you live in your car? Then you need to be able to listen to some high-quality music.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2005, 03:26 PM   #1
89IROC&RS
AF Fanatic
 
89IROC&RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 7,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do i need an amp??

Ok, this is probly a hardcore stereo noob question, but do i need an amp to run a subwoofer? Im doing a custom install in my camaro, and im looking at the wiring diagram from my headunit, which has sub out RCA cables, and in the diagram, it seems to show it hooked directly to a subwoofer in a box, with no amp between the two. I was under the impression that a headunit couldnt power a sub, and that these were pre-amp outputs, am i mistaken?

Also I am running an 8 speaker system off of a 4 channel amp rated at 40W RMS, wired at 2ohms instead of 4ohms, if it is possible to run the sub off the headunit, would there be any point? in other words, would i hear the sub over the other speakers?

and last question i promise, If i have to run a second amp for the sub, do i split the amp remote wire from the head unit and run it to both amps? or will the sub's amp not need that input? and can i run both amps off the same power wire or will i need to run a second power wire from the battery back along side the first one?

Thanks and please, be gentle, im new to the whole aftermarket stereo thing, even though automotive electronics and wiring is what i worked in at the dealership.
__________________


Chevrolet Camaro - I enjoy beating the hell out of people

http://www.automotiveforums.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68052
89IROC&RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 04:09 PM   #2
89IROC&RS
AF Fanatic
Thread starter
 
89IROC&RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 7,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Do i need an amp??

oh and i dont know if this is relevant or at all usefull, but the power ratings of the sub are...

32-120W RMS
400W Max
10" cone

and the output on the head unit is 4V, i dont know the wattage though.
__________________


Chevrolet Camaro - I enjoy beating the hell out of people

http://www.automotiveforums.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68052
89IROC&RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 04:18 PM   #3
89IROC&RS
AF Fanatic
Thread starter
 
89IROC&RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 7,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Do i need an amp??

nevermind, got my answer, time to go amp shopping.
__________________


Chevrolet Camaro - I enjoy beating the hell out of people

http://www.automotiveforums.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=68052
89IROC&RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 01:02 PM   #4
L|_|da
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 397
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to L|_|da
Re: Do i need an amp??

read first jeez
L|_|da is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 12:04 PM   #5
balls_to_the_wall
AF Enthusiast
 
balls_to_the_wall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: No Where, Kansas
Posts: 1,833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Do i need an amp??

Hey 89, just make sure you don't get a chepo crap amp for that awsome car.
balls_to_the_wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 07:52 PM   #6
CBFryman
Banned
 
CBFryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 3,705
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to CBFryman Send a message via Yahoo to CBFryman
Re: Do i need an amp??

super noob question of the year right here...

what drivers are you useing? JW...and you are planing on building your own enclosure correct? prefabs suck...
CBFryman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts