Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Automotive Art > Car Modeling
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Car Modeling Share your passion for car modeling here! Includes sub-forum for "in progress" and "completed" vehicles.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 01-04-2010, 04:35 AM   #1
mgt
AF Newbie

Advise for purchasing Tamiya Airbrush

Hey guys,

I'm getting back into car modelling after a year lay off, and I am looking to purchase my first airbrush, and my budget is around $200-250. I am a slow builder and a casual modeller. I use exclusively Tamiya acrylic jar paints for brush painting small to medium size parts, and Tamiya lacquers for larger areas; I wish to replace brush painting with airbrushing. I spray my car bodies and very large areas (such as a chassis) with Tamiya lacquers, therefore I need an airbrush capable of handling everything else. I am a beginner and an out of the box modeller, I will not be spraying anything like alclad etc, just Tamiya acrylics.

Here is what i was considering purchasing from HLJ.com;

- Tamiya Spray-Work Compact Air Compressor.
http://www.hlj.com/product/TAM74533

- Tamiya Spray-Work HG Single Airbrush. (one of the 4 airbrushes Tamiya recommends for use with the compact air compressor)
http://www.hlj.com/product/TAM74519

So I am wondering;

Is this a suitable set up, and will I need to purchase any supplementary parts for it such as a "water trap" etc.?
Is the compact air compressor any good?
I live in Canada, will the AC adapter be compatible with our outlets?
What type of shipping cost will I be looking at?

Thank you very much in advance to any who responds as I realize this is a complex question.

Thanks,