Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio
Car Audio Do you live in your car? Then you need to be able to listen to some high-quality music.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2016, 04:53 PM   #1
Checkerknight
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Installing an aftermarket radio

Hello everyone, I am having some power issues upon installing an aftermarket radio into my 1971 Plymouth Fury. I was able to get the old radio out but the car has only a single wire for constant and an ignition power.


I tried just wrapping and taping the new radios ignition and constant power wires to this but it causes the radio to be connected to dome light power and whatnot. (Ex. radio only turns on when door is open, close door radio will turn off with lights, and turning headlights on will cause radio to reset.)
I was told that I should try just connecting the ignition wire to the connection showed in picture, and get more wire in order to run the constant directly into the battery. Any ideas?
Checkerknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 08:19 AM   #2
PaulD
Audio Guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 4,704
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PaulD Send a message via Yahoo to PaulD
Re: Installing an aftermarket radio

you obviously have the wrong wire(s), check them with a multimeter. Also, run the black ground wire from the radio straight to some metal behind the dash.
PaulD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 07:10 PM   #3
Checkerknight
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Installing an aftermarket radio

I am unsure as to what you mean by wrong wire. I'm not using a kit or anything I'm just looking at the wires coming out of the radio and car itself. As far as the radio goes, the constant and ignition and ground have to be plugged in regardless correct? All the other wires in the back of the radio are for speakers, which this car only has one so the majority of them are taped off.
Checkerknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2016, 05:32 PM   #4
Checkerknight
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Installing an aftermarket radio

Also I need some advice on getting a radio mounted into this car. I have been unsuccessful in my search to find a dash kit for this car.
Checkerknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2016, 08:34 AM   #5
PaulD
Audio Guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 4,704
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PaulD Send a message via Yahoo to PaulD
Re: Installing an aftermarket radio

You are trying to mount a DIN sized rectangular face chassis into a space made for a radio with a shaft on each side. I am uncertain if you will ever find a mounting kit for this car, you might have to fabricate something.

As far as the wiring goes, you will need a multimeter. Set it to volts, put the black lead on metal behind dash and check each wire carefully with ignition on and off, lights on and off, etc .. to determine which wire is what.
PaulD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2016, 04:49 PM   #6
Checkerknight
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Installing an aftermarket radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulD View Post
As far as the wiring goes, you will need a multimeter. Set it to volts, put the black lead on metal behind dash and check each wire carefully with ignition on and off, lights on and off, etc .. to determine which wire is what.
Now your talking the wires from the back of the radio i assume right? As I stated the only thing coming from the car is the piece that I am holding. The 2 to the side of the picture go to the speaker. So you're saying to hook up the radio and then check all the speaker wires from the radio?
Checkerknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2016, 08:35 AM   #7
PaulD
Audio Guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 4,704
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PaulD Send a message via Yahoo to PaulD
Re: Installing an aftermarket radio

no, not the speaker stuff and not the wires from radio. You may need a manual for the car. The ground from the factory radio may just be the metal to metal contact. You will need to connect the black wire from the new radio to metal behind the dash. If you don't, it will ground thru the antenna and may damage it. You can run your own power wires if you want .. find a spot on the fuse block that has constant 12V and another one that has 12V when power is switched on. This might be a better option for you.
PaulD is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts