Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > S-10
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2005, 06:26 AM   #1
David John
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Torrington, Connecticut
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Transmission fluid level

This might be a stupid question but is being a little low on tranny fluid really bad for your transmission? I mean it wouldnt effect anything would it? I should just add more right? Thanks for helping out...Its only my first truck. It shifts fine if your wondering...but thanks for any information
David John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 07:23 AM   #2
16th hippy
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 587
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
when you check it, if there is no fluid onthe stick, you should add half a quart, and check it again. keep doign this until it is in the safe operating range as indicated on the stick.too much is bad, and way too little can burn it up. not a stupid question if you don't know the answer..is always best to ask if you don't. if you have anymore questions, just ask, that's why we're here.
__________________
Disclaimer: I am not perfect, i may be wrong in my advice from time to time. Also note that any advice given is as is with no warranty whatsoever, and i have zero liability if you get hurt for not being safe while working on your vehicle.
16th hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 04:15 PM   #3
BlazerLT
AF -Advisor
 
BlazerLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 13,574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Transmission fluid level

Quote:
Originally Posted by David John
This might be a stupid question but is being a little low on tranny fluid really bad for your transmission? I mean it wouldnt effect anything would it? I should just add more right? Thanks for helping out...Its only my first truck. It shifts fine if your wondering...but thanks for any information
You checked the fluid level with is running hot right?

Also, go through all the gears slowly all the way to 1 and back up pausing for 5 seconds each time to get the right level.
__________________
1995 Factory Blazer Service Manual for sale, PM if interested.
BlazerLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:03 PM   #4
dmbrisket 51
AF Fanatic
 
dmbrisket 51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Muskegon, Michigan
Posts: 2,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to dmbrisket 51
Re: Transmission fluid level

^ or, you could check it while its ideling in nutral, like most of us
dmbrisket 51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 06:16 PM   #5
BlazerLT
AF -Advisor
 
BlazerLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 13,574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Re: Transmission fluid level

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbrisket 51
^ or, you could check it while its ideling in nutral, like most of us
Actually, you check it in hot idle in park after cycling through all the gears to make sure all the solenoids are filled so that you get the proper level.
__________________
1995 Factory Blazer Service Manual for sale, PM if interested.
BlazerLT is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > S-10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts