Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Corvette
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Corvette
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 07-25-2005, 12:25 PM   #1
Ecordeddie
AF Newbie

'79 Oil Pan gasket Change Question

I'm a self wrencher that knows enough about cars to be dangerous.... I'm new to the whole corvette thing and I've had a lot of enjoyment doing some minor wrench turning on it.

So I'm wondering if I can get away with just using my car ramps to change the oil gasket on the pan or do I need to take it to a shop that has a car lift?
Ecordeddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 11:15 PM   #2
ctesla
AF Enthusiast

I am not sure on the mid70s, but my '82 was a pain, because the lip of the pan just crossed the front sway bar.
I would drive it onto the ramps and make sure your engine's oil pan will clear suspension and/or steering components prior to saying ok.
otherwise, a lift, air tools, and some expertise (more than enough to make you extremely dangerous) would be involved.
I am not trying to dissuade you, and if you like, tomorrow, I will look into how many man hours at work for you.

...if the books say less than a couple, plan on most of your day on ramps; if it says more than 3.5-4hrs, I'd say that means, if it is a minor leak, go to 20W50 or straight 40 Racing oil, and see if that slows it 'til the price is right at the shop.

chris
nrt racing
713.933.5773 (7A-10P central)
ctesla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:39 AM   #3
ctesla
AF Enthusiast

book shows 1.5-2.1 hours...

may have to loosen a sway bar, or unbolt one side of the power steering rack, but probably, the most common: