Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2015, 06:49 PM   #1
1grover
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: North Syracuse, New York
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Turbo 400 help?

I recently removed the Turbo 400 out of my Pontiac Firebird to replace a leaking torque converter seal. In the process I replaced the transmission filter while it was out. I reinstalled the transmission refilled and now have no gears, forward or reverse.

When disassembled, the pan was clean and the fluid clean and bright red. The torque converter is reinstalled correctly and engaged the lugs for the front pump. The filter was installed correctly and I dropped the pan again to reverify. The fluid is full to the correct level on the dipstick. The linkage is connected and moving properly.

Any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
1grover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:30 AM   #2
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,591
Thanks: 14
Thanked 327 Times in 321 Posts
Re: Turbo 400 help?

The seal for the filter in place and good?
__________________
maxwedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:35 AM   #3
1grover
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: North Syracuse, New York
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Turbo 400 help?

The seal for the filter is good and the o-ring on the pickup tube is in place.
1grover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:48 PM   #4
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,591
Thanks: 14
Thanked 327 Times in 321 Posts
Re: Turbo 400 help?

It sounds like no pressure, could be the convertor is not engaged completely , it can fool you some times.
__________________
maxwedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 08:43 AM   #5
1grover
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: North Syracuse, New York
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Turbo 400 help?

My error... the pin on the rooster comb wasn't engaged in the manual valve... the retaining pin was missing from the selector shaft which allowed it to slide over and disengage.
1grover is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts