Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Achieva
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2010, 10:24 PM   #1
clhenry
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Carpendale, West Virginia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cold affecting speedometer

93 olds Achieva V-6 3300.
Every time it gets cold out the speedometer stops working. If it warms up above 40 degrees, it works fine. Tac always works fine. Any ideas?
clhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 06:41 PM   #2
clhenry
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Carpendale, West Virginia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Cold affecting speedometer

Springs here. Its working again. Never did find the problem.
clhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 03:41 PM   #3
Goetz57
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: St. Joseph, Missouri
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Cold affecting speedometer

LMAO Welcome to the strange world of the Achieva !!!! My 97 does the same, except for the fact that now that it has actted this way for a couple of year, the warm weather isn't a 100% promise it will always work...wait till some of the other gauges take awhile to start working...IMHO it all is part of the many weird problems I see people having with the ICP.. ...lmao
__________________
Coarse and violent nudity. Occasional language.
Goetz57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 05:26 PM   #4
SargeMan
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Anoka, Minnesota
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Cold affecting speedometer

Yes, I would recommend looking into the Instrument Panel Cluster (IPC)... I had that replaced on my 1996 Olds and it is a V6 too so I think that that would be your best plan of attack... You will then need to have it "Reprogrammed" so the ECM will accept the new device... They are about $20 at U-Pull-R-Parts in Rosemount or East Bethel.
SargeMan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Achieva

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts