Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Nova
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 03-22-2008, 03:54 PM   #1
troybett
AF Newbie

Fuel Tank Rust - Please help

Newbie here. I got a '75 Nova custom that has had only one prior owner. It hasn't been driven in over two years. I want to clean the fuel tank before I try starting the engine. It has started (briefly) a week ago after being primed. I've read different things on how to do it and what to use. I need advice on the best way to go on this. This is supposed to be a project for me and my sons to bond over, so I want to do it ourselves. For the record its a V8 262. Thanks
troybett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 03:00 PM   #2
randy78
AF Regular

Send a message via Yahoo to randy78 Send a message via Skype™ to randy78
Re: Fuel Tank Rust - Please help

well you got a couple options

the right way if it really does have rust inside it and is bad is to pull the tank and take it to the radiator shop and have them boil it for about 25 bucks

next best way is to pressure flush it out with gas or fuel oil such as kerosene mixed in with gas, stick air comrepssor hose in the filler with a rag and catch can at the fuel pump at the tank line there just before the pump where it is flexible

and change the carb inlet filter a few times this year or add an inline one before the fuel pump so rust doesnt get insie the pump and rupture the diapragm in it