Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Jaguar > XK | XKR | XXR-S
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 08-04-2006, 10:59 AM   #1
MurphyMax
AF Newbie

2001 XK8 Roof Latch Oil Hose Leak

The automatic roof latch, located inside the upper windshield frame, started leaking thin green oil as I attempted to lower the top. What a mess! Needless to say, this was shocking since my XK8 is a low mileage pampered car with only 32,000 miles on it. Yes, I do lower the top as often as I can, but jeez! The latch ought to last the lifetime of the car. I've been an engineer in the automotive industry for a long time and any major malfuntion below 100,000 miles is considered a design failure (i.e., not 'wear and tear').

Anyway, the dealer replaced the hydraulic hoses front to back, and the latch mechanism, all under my extended warranty ($0 cost to me). It's been working just fine since, but I'm a little paranoid now. This repair would've cost me a bundle if I had to pay for it.

My major concern is whether this hydraulic latch failure is common or if this is a fluke. If it's common, then can I expect this to leak again in a few years (next time at my expense)?

Also, are there any other ticking 'time bombs' in this car that I should know about now? If I am aware, I can perhaps fool my dealer to repairing common 'malfunctions' before they happen. Does that make me such a bad person? LOL
MurphyMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 04:48 AM   #2
mikes2006
AF Newbie

Re: 2001 XK8 Roof Latch Oil Hose Leak