Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Tempo | Topaz
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2015, 11:22 AM   #1
greybeard851
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ashland, Ohio
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
89 Tempo safety lockout not working

The gearshift lever can be moved out of park without having first stepped on the brake pedal. It had always worked before. How does lockout work? What might have changed to allow movement now?

Thanks,

Grey
greybeard851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 01:15 PM   #2
aleekat
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: clarksville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,415
Thanks: 6
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Re: 89 Tempo safety lockout not working

Solenoid at the gear shift. Depressing pedal sends voltage to the solenoid to get out of the way. Spilled coffee, sodas etc can gum up the solenoid.
__________________
Post back, that's what makes Forums Work.
aleekat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aleekat For This Useful Post:
greybeard851 (06-17-2015)
Old 06-17-2015, 05:14 PM   #3
greybeard851
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ashland, Ohio
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 89 Tempo safety lockout not working

Thank you for your quick response. I recently had the ball joints and bushings replaced on the front end. I suppose it is possible that the wire to it may have been pulled off, or it may have just quit on its own. It's really not a terribly big deal as I am in the habit of stepping on the brake first anyway, but I had wondered why it happened and what could be done about it.

I may just snoop around under there and see if I see a wire dangling. If not, I'll probably just leave it alone since it wouldn't cause any other difficulty... I don't think.

Again, Thanks.

Grey
greybeard851 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 05:25 PM   #4
aleekat
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: clarksville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,415
Thanks: 6
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Re: 89 Tempo safety lockout not working

Doubtful that any front end work would have caused it. I had to disable a cutlass yrs ago because sometimes you couldn't get it to release out of park. Just disabled it. Won't cause any issues.
__________________
Post back, that's what makes Forums Work.
aleekat is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks

Tags
device, failure, safety
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Tempo | Topaz

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts