Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Toyota > T100
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-18-2002, 06:51 PM   #1
thecat
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
anybody ever change the tranny fluid on this truck?

How do you change the tranny fluid?
thecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 12:51 AM   #2
ImportBuilder
AF Regular
 
ImportBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 228
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to ImportBuilder Send a message via Yahoo to ImportBuilder
have u ever changed tranny fluid in NE car?its not much dif from changin oil.
__________________
Now Playing:
1x Pioneer DEH-3800MP HU
2x Majestic MCS650BC
2x Majestic MCS6923BC
4 AWG Power/Ground
1x Lightning Audio STRIKE S4.15.VC2
1x Lightning Audio STRIKE 24.500.1
Dynamat Xtreme in trunk
Coming Soon:
New SPL Setup
ImportBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 02:21 AM   #3
Brian R.
Resident Chemist
 
Brian R.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rockville, Maryland
Posts: 8,575
Thanks: 105
Thanked 153 Times in 153 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Brian R.
Re: anybody ever change the tranny fluid on this truck?

Only manual transmissions are that simple.

If you drop the pan of an automatic transmission and drain the transmission fluid, then you only drain off a small amount of the ATF. The majority of the fluid stays in the torque converter (some have a separate drain for the TC) and in the valve body.

To really change the fluid in an automatic tranmission, you have to pump the fluid out and replace it as it is pumped out.
Brian R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:18 PM   #4
Bryan J
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bloomfield, Iowa
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: anybody ever change the tranny fluid on this truck?

Automatic or Manual? Drain plug on bottom and fill plug on side for the Manuals.
__________________
Thanks and have a great day!

Bryan
Bryan J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 10:24 AM   #5
OSUCowboy27
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mooreland, Oklahoma
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: anybody ever change the tranny fluid on this truck?

If it is a manual, I have no idea, but if it is an auto, here is what i do. There is a drain plug on bottom. Drain out the 2 quarts and refill with 2 qts, drive and repeat several times. This will improve fluid quality and is easier than flushing or you can drain the 2 qts and refill with 6 and idle for several minutes or drive slowly and then drain and refill with 2 qts.
The filter is a mesh screen and should be fine.
OSUCowboy27 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Toyota > T100

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts