Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Dodge > Shadow
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 06-18-2007, 09:21 PM   #1
rosscoe001
AF Newbie

Head Gasket

I own a 93 dodge shadow and i recently noticed that it was running pretty bad all of a sudden.

I raised the hood and took a look at the top of the spark plugs and i could notice a small pool of oil around the ends. Please tell me the head gasket isn't gone on it..

If i removed the spark plugs and installed new ones would that help at all or do i need to change the gasket, if i do i have no tools or knowledge on how to do it. Is it an expensive repair?? thanks!

Rosscoe
rosscoe001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 06:23 AM   #2
john51md
AF Regular

Re: Head Gasket

Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscoe001
I own a 93 dodge shadow and i recently noticed that it was running pretty bad all of a sudden.

I raised the hood and took a look at the top of the spark plugs and i could notice a small pool of oil around the ends. Please tell me the head gasket isn't gone on it..

If i removed the spark plugs and installed new ones would that help at all or do i need to change the gasket, if i do i have no tools or knowledge on how to do it. Is it an expensive repair?? thanks!

Rosscoe
Oil pooled around a spark plug is generaly a leaking valve cover gasket and not a head gasket, on the either tin or alumium, top of engine, valve cover.
Easy to replace a few hand tools.Few bucks for a gasket, just be sure you dont over tighten the small bolts, in other words, dont tighten so tight you see the gasket squish out from under the bolt area.
john51md is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 06:34 AM   #3