Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Buick > LaCrosse/Allure
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2017, 12:42 PM   #1
Making Junk Fly
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Torque converter.

2005 La Crosse. Do these cars have a lock up torque converter? Can it be disabled?
Making Junk Fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 02:30 PM   #2
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,587
Thanks: 14
Thanked 325 Times in 319 Posts
Re: Torque converter.

Yes they do. What is the problem?
__________________
maxwedge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2017, 10:09 PM   #3
Making Junk Fly
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Torque converter.

At low speed and low throttle it seems that the torque converter is locking up and then unlocking. is there a switch on the brake pedal like was first used that you needed to apply the brake to shift. I just had the transmission flushed and it is working better ,but not this hard lock unlock. Is there any vacuum from the intake to the trans control? Thanks
Making Junk Fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 08:50 AM   #4
maxwedge
A990 racer
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chestertown, New York
Posts: 16,587
Thanks: 14
Thanked 325 Times in 319 Posts
Re: Torque converter.

No vacuum, all electronic controls from the pcm. To avoid unnecessary repairs you should have it scanned with the proper bi-directional scanner to see pcm commands and tcc functions.
__________________
maxwedge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 05:06 PM   #5
harleyguy
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: McPherson
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Torque converter.

Before you just go disconnecting the tcc you should really be sure that's the problem. Converter lockup shouldn't be that noticeable of a difference and you will have more problems if you bypass it. Can you describe your problem in a little more depth?
harleyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 09:12 PM   #6
Tech II
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Worcester, Massachusetts
Posts: 5,017
Thanks: 70
Thanked 617 Times in 609 Posts
Re: Torque converter.

Are we talking about the TCC engaging/disengaging, or about harsh shifts?

Have you scanned for transmission codes?
Tech II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 09:20 PM   #7
Stealthee
Your worst nightmare
 
Stealthee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,502
Thanks: 5
Thanked 147 Times in 144 Posts
Re: Torque converter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech II View Post
Are we talking about the TCC engaging/disengaging, or about harsh shifts?

Have you scanned for transmission codes?
This is exactly what I am thinking.
__________________
Stealthee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Buick > LaCrosse/Allure

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts