Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Buick > Roadmaster
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 02-01-2016, 02:10 PM   #1
rfball
AF Newbie

Fuel pump or pressure regulator? or aomething else?

I'm new to this so please bear with me.
I have a 1995 Buick road master that doesn't like to start after it sits a few hours.
I have put a fuel pressure gage on the rail, and, with the key off, 0psi. When I turn the key to run, the pressure goes up to about 5psi then bleeds off quickly. cycling the key from off to run seems to consistently give the same results. Watching the pressure gage, if I hit start when the pressure is 5psi, the car will start, and the pressure will rise to 35psi. If I remove the vacuum line from the pressure regulator, the pressure will increase to 45-48psi. I can turn the car off, and restart with no problem at this point, as long as I don't wait too long.

My theory.
Either the fuel pump or regulator are letting the fuel bleed off over time, and somehow allowing air in the lines.

My question
How do I tell which is leaking? or am I way of track?
rfball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 06:45 PM   #2
maxwedge
A990 racer

Re: Fuel pump or pressure regulator? or aomething else?

Any raw fuel in the hose to the regulator?
Old 02-01-2016, 08:58 PM   #3
Tech II
AF Fanatic

I am thinking fuel pump, check valve in the pump, or leak in the pump........

Do you have plastic lines between the rail and the fuel lines?

Or do you have rubber hoses?

If plastic lines, you need special valves to attach to the plastic lines(supply and return).....YOU CAN'T CLAMP PLASTIC LINES!