Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Cadillac > CTS and CTS-V
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-27-2016, 10:16 AM   #1
jonnik
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: austin, Texas
Posts: 189
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Multifunction switch

2006 CTS, 3.6. My high beams sometimes come on when I activate the right turn indicator. I know that I am not pushing the lever forward, and I have read that this is not an uncommon problem. How difficult is it to change the switch? Has anybody done it and have any tips? I've seen some instructions and tips in a Cadillac forum, but I want all the information I can get.
jonnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 12:18 AM   #2
tim_jackie2001
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: garland, Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Ever get a resolution to this? I need to change my multi-function switch, but cant even get the plastics to come off.

Sorry forgot the car:

2008 CTS 3.6 DI
tim_jackie2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:23 AM   #3
Blue Bowtie
Registered Offender
 
Blue Bowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Rural
Posts: 5,854
Thanks: 3
Thanked 225 Times in 221 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Are you indicating that the plastic clamshell halves will not come off, or something else?
__________________
Permanent seat assignment on the Group W bench...
Automotive Forums Survival Guide
Blue Bowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:32 PM   #4
tim_jackie2001
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: garland, Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Yes the plastics covering the steering column won't release and I don't want to force them and break any retaining clips.
tim_jackie2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:11 PM   #5
tim_jackie2001
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: garland, Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Re: Multifunction switch

OK, back to the drawing board..... I got the column shroud off and changed out the multi-switch, but it didn't fix my problem.

In a nut shell, I wrecked my car (in the front) and just got it back from the body shop. The DLR and low beams are fine, but blinkers, high beams and flashers won't. I can't find a blown fuse or a bad relay, I HAVE to be missing something.

Any help is very much appreciated, I really miss taking my baby out
tim_jackie2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 10:37 PM   #6
Tech II
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Worcester, Massachusetts
Posts: 4,870
Thanks: 50
Thanked 599 Times in 591 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

You had an accident? Your insurance company pay the body shop? If yes, why isn't it taking care of the electrical problem?

But it sounds like your turn signal/hazard flasher module is the culprit....if fuses and relays are ok.....
Tech II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 07:03 PM   #7
tim_jackie2001
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: garland, Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Only had liability so repairs came out of my pocket. My husband had the same idea as you, but hasn't been able to locate the flasher module just yet. Can you tell me (for certain) where the flasher module is?

Headlights were a loose body ground on the radiator support, they're working now. But still dont have blinkers or flashers. I tested all the fuses with a DMM, and switched relays out with known good ones, and they all worked fine, so I think we've narrowed down the possibilities.
tim_jackie2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:56 PM   #8
Stealthee
Your worst nightmare
 
Stealthee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,310
Thanks: 4
Thanked 121 Times in 118 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

There is no flasher module. It's all controlled in the BCM.
__________________
Stealthee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:21 PM   #9
Tech II
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Worcester, Massachusetts
Posts: 4,870
Thanks: 50
Thanked 599 Times in 591 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Stealthee, my diagram shows the output of the multifunction switch going to this module, not the BCM....
Tech II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 10:37 PM   #10
tim_jackie2001
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: garland, Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

My son's given me all the information he can find on Alldata, it doesn't say anything about a flasher module only the bcm. Can I get one from a junkyard and plug it in or does it have to be new and reprogrammed by the dealer?
tim_jackie2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 03:30 AM   #11
Tech II
AF Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Worcester, Massachusetts
Posts: 4,870
Thanks: 50
Thanked 599 Times in 591 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Here is a partial diagram I found for a 2006 CTS

Tech II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:44 PM   #12
tim_jackie2001
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: garland, Texas
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

Thanks, but I'm told the 206 is a different gen model and the same information won't work on a 2008. I did however find a replacement BCM on ebay.

Does anybody know if it still needs "programmed" or will plug and play work?
tim_jackie2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:51 PM   #13
Stealthee
Your worst nightmare
 
Stealthee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Smithfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,310
Thanks: 4
Thanked 121 Times in 118 Posts
Re: Multifunction switch

It will likely have to be programmed, but I cannot tell you for 100% certainty.
__________________
Stealthee is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Cadillac > CTS and CTS-V

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts