Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 10-20-2005, 12:50 AM   #1
asemstr
AF Enthusiast

WARNING! Beware Bosch platinums!

Don't get me wrong! Bosch platinums, +2s, and +4s are great sparkplugs, but like fire they have to be used under the correct circumstanses to prevent complications! As a automotive tech I've come across a large number of driveability cases that stemmed from the use of these plugs in vehicles with ignition systems that were incompatible with them so I'de like to ask your pardon for a moment while I dust off the soapbox and bore you with some of my observations on this issue. First I'de like to mention the ignition systems that perform well with these plugs... COP (Coil On Plug), and HEI distributer type systems in which each plug has it own independent secondary ckt can benefit from these plugs, but you do need to consider they're higher temp rateing. Now the problem. Alot of late model vehicles use a loop style ignition system in which one coil fires 2 plugs with each secondary discharge event. One plug fires dureing the exhaust stroke (waste spark), while the other initiates combustion dureing the power stroke. This results in a pattern like this... Induced power leaves the coil through tower A, Jumps gap in plug A (center-side electrode),passes through the engine block, Jumps gap in plug B (side-center electrode), any remaining power returns to coil tower B. This is where the issue comes up, the Bosch platinum's center electrode design produces