Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Dodge > Ram Pickup | Ram SRT10
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2005, 03:29 PM   #1
Jerryx
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Melted wiring harness?

Hi,

Ram 2500 V8 Magnum

I have a strange and very frustrating electrical problem. I suspect it's caused by a short in the wiring harness where it melted someplace. I was driving along on a hot day up a long grade, and all of the sudden strange things start happening.

Does anyone know where the harness is most likely to have melted? Where should I look?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Jerryx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 03:37 PM   #2
MT-2500
AF - Advisor
 
MT-2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New London, Missouri
Posts: 16,692
Thanks: 5
Thanked 121 Times in 120 Posts
Re: Melted wiring harness?

Where ever there is smoke or burning rubber/wire smell should narrow it down.
But first tell us about them strange things.
Be careful. You never know about starnge things.
MT
__________________
Remember proper testing gives us the answer to many problems.
MT
MT-2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 05:34 PM   #3
Jerryx
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Re: Melted wiring harness?

I'm 99% sure it's a short in the harness. It's probably somewhere on the driver's side of the engine, near the firewall. Just thought I'd ask the forum in case there are places where the harness is likely to melt.

The strange problem is the cruise control stopped working completely. It's as if it's no longer an option, it just doesn't work at all. Also the engine light comes on when the AC clutch engages, and it throws a code for high voltage on the TPS. The TPS is fine, that's not it, but I can see the high voltage right on the computer input pin (with TPS wire clipped) when the AC clutch engages. So somehow voltage is feeding back into the computer, through a different pin, and probably it's interfereing with one of the sensors used by the cruise also. There's got to be a short somewhere.

I tried changing out the computer and that makes no difference.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Jerry
Jerryx is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Dodge > Ram Pickup | Ram SRT10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts