Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 10-24-2002, 12:13 PM   #1
calo
AF Newbie

Question !!** HELP ... creating a Driving Simulator with Toyota Matrix **!!

!!** HELP in creating a Driving Simulator with Toyota Matrix **!!

I am a Computer Engineering Student at Univeristy of Waterloo. Currently, I have a project to turn a Toyota Matrix into a Driving Simulator. That is, I have to some how connect the car into a computer system which would simulate "REAL WORLD" driving experience.

I know that in order to detect the inputs from the car ( ie. degree of turns and how much did the gas/brake pedal got pressed), I would need some kind of Sensors. The signals from these sensors ( basically different level of voltages ) would be passed into a microprocessor to translate these signals into information that the computer would understand.

I was doing some research about different type of sensors out there. For Steering Angle Sensors, I found one that maybe quite useful and that is the Delphi's INTELLEK Non-Contact Steering Position Sensor. As for pedal sensor, I think Delphi's Intellek Non-Contact Rotary Position Sensor would be useful.

However, I am still quite LOST about the whole idea because I am not sure where can I actually purchase these sensors and I am not too sure if they would work in the Toyota Matrix.

Does anyone have any suggestions? ( like what kind of sensors are BEST for my project and where I can get more information about it? )

Thanks~~

Carol
calo is offline   Reply With Quote