Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-18-2005, 02:42 PM   #1
AZvet
AF Newbie

Question Dodge Dart Power Steering

Hi to all of you folks. I'm a newbie on here and need a little help.

My son purchased a 1974 Dodge Dart Special Edition with a 318 in pretty good shape (Arizona car). I have had to replace the power steering pump and hoses to correct some leaks, and now it looks like there is a leak in the power steering box itself.

I'm in my 60's and I'm wondering how difficult it is to replace the power steering box on that car. Do I need special tools (pullers or others)?, and how does the steering column connect to the power steering box itself? How much time should I expect this to take to replace the box itself?

Are these units available through NAPA or other suppliers as rebuilt units?

I apologize for all of the questions, but I'm usually a GM person, and this is my first MoPar.

Any help is appreciated.
AZvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 02:55 PM   #2
powerplating
AF Newbie

Send a message via Yahoo to powerplating
Some tools

I have a 73 charger 318 car with the same steering gear box as your dart you will a good set of tools the only specialty tool I can think of would be a pickle fork to remove the pitman arm from the gear box .