Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Contour
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2013, 09:53 PM   #1
ihateford85
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
1998 contour help

Hey everyone,
So I'm trying to get some opinions before I change the TSS sensor...
Here's the problem, My grandmother has a 1998 ford contour that seems to be stuck in limp mode, so it stays in 3rd. I can manually drop it down to 1st / 2nd and everything is good. But when I shift to drive it goes right back to 3rd and stays there .... TSS???

ihateford85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:17 PM   #2
SleepyHead98
AF Regular
 
SleepyHead98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Temple, Texas
Posts: 220
Thanks: 14
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

probably. Have you had the codes read?
SleepyHead98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:23 PM   #3
ihateford85
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

No, I just towed it to my house tonight and did the fuel pump. I will take it to AutoZone tomorrow when I get home
ihateford85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 04:05 PM   #4
ihateford85
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

I just got back from Auto Zone, and there are no codes present. I just picked up a Transmission position sensor, but no luck.
ihateford85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 04:06 PM   #5
ihateford85
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

I just got back from Auto Zone, and there are no codes present. I just picked up a Transmission position sensor, but no luck.
ihateford85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:16 PM   #6
ASE AMD
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: san antonio, Texas
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: 1998 contour help

Transmission has codes if its going into limp mode. No doubt.
ASE AMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:00 AM   #7
clutch492
ASE Master Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Circleville, Kansas
Posts: 81
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

I hear from a bunch of other posts that these transmission codes will be present only if the key is not turned off. If it acts up, take it to have the codes read without turning off the key. They will then be live codes.
clutch492 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 10:24 AM   #8
marschil
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: pahrump, Nevada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

We have countour and wont shift into second gear.changed the sensor.worked for a day and now back to not shifting properly again.speedometer doesnt work.did i do something wrong or is trainy going out?
marschil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2015, 10:37 AM   #9
marschil
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: pahrump, Nevada
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Re: 1998 contour help

I repaced sensor because slow shifting out of 1st gear ,worked for a day now back to not shifting again. Whats wrong? Speedometer not working.did i do somthing wrong or another problem.
marschil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 10:14 AM   #10
rhandwor
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 4,566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 62 Posts
Re: 1998 contour help

Try checking the wiring plugs to the transmission maybe bad wiring.
rhandwor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Contour

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
 
no new posts