Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Aurora
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 05-12-2004, 08:15 PM   #1
dmorlow
AF Regular

idea on how to save $ on gas.. any ideas on how to make it work???

Ok, I am sick of rising gas prices. My last car, it took about $15 to fill my tank up and it lasted about a week. Now with this 95 Aurora, it costs me around $35 to fill my tank up (using premium gas) and it usually doesn't even last a week. I am a poor college student that doesn't make a lot of $. I just liked these cars a lot so I bought one. But I know that the auroras northstar engines are nutorious for overheating and they have a safeguard in them that shuts down 4 cylinders in the event that you run out of coolant. What sparked the idea is Dodge is coming out with a new version of the hemi that is also known for terrible gas mileage. The new versions of the engine shut down 4 cylinders when the car is just crusing to conserve gas. Now what I am thinking is if there is a way to use the function that is already in the northstar engine that shuts down the 4 cylinders because of no coolant to shut them down when there is coolant in the engine just to save gas. What I would have to do is find the sensor that tells the engine that it is out of coolant and somehow find a way to trick the sensor into thinking there is no coolant (whether it is applying a certain voltage or taking away the voltage). I was thinking it would be too difficult to wire it so that it automatically just shut down 4 cylinders when it was crusing and not accelerating. But if I wired a toggle switch inside the car that when I wanted to cons