Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Honda > General Discussion
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 02-25-2013, 11:41 PM   #1
Dugtoni
AF Newbie

Feel a bit guilty about trade-in price

Hey everyone,

Just would like others opinions on this. I bough my first ever new car today, and traded in my Honda Civic which I had been driving for 10 years. The car had a salvage title when I bought it, so when I traded it in I didn't expect to get much for it. When the guy at the dealership appraised my car he offered a lot more than I expected. Obviously I didn't try to talk him down, haha. He seemed like a reasonable guy and negotiated quite a bit down from the sticker price for the new car to the Edmund's true market value. My new car came in two days later and I was signing papers in the finance office, and there was a paper that said sign here to certify that your trade in car's title doesn't have anything like junk, salvage or lemon on it. I told the guy at the finance office that it does have a salvage title. He went and told the sales manager, who then came into the office and tried to ask if I really needed to trade the car in, and if I could just sell it on my own. I explained to him that I did not want to have to deal with this. He then explained that he was probably only going to be able to sell the car for about $600 less than what I agreed to trade the car in for because he didn't realize it was a salvaged car. I thought when he was appraising the car he would have certainly looked into the car history! I had already signed papers for the new car with the trade in being deducted from that, so the amount he gave me