Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Pontiac > Grand AM
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2007, 10:17 PM   #1
sidelinellc
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: suffield, Connecticut
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

have a 96 grand am wih a quad 4. lately, if i use the cruise control on highway, engine will missfire/stumble, especially noticable when climbing hills. This problem will appear over 45 mph when cruise applied. if driving normal, car appears to missfire/stumble when traveling above 65mph and especially when traveling up hills. no codes present, and no lights on. changed all the normall stuff, coils, plugs, fuel filters, injectors, checked cat. still have problem. My thought is possably vacume leak that gets more pronounced once cruise is activated(cruise relys on vacume) car drives perfectly normal otherewise, starts, runs good, plenty of power-alwase,. the stumble will
ALWASE appear if i try to use cruise, will run fine for a sec, then start to stumble more and more....your thoughts please...thanks
sidelinellc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:47 AM   #2
xeroinfinity
out saving the world
 
xeroinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Yourtown, Indiana
Posts: 10,698
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Re: 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

Welcome to AF.

One thing you didnt list replacing is the boots for the plug if they have cracks it'll jump spark and misout.

Check you vacum lines to the Cruise box and all the others.
Could have a leak or something clogged up a little in those lines.

Also you said no codes, was it scanned with a cheap'o free scan or a GM Tech II scanner ?
__________________
1999 Grand Am SS 3.4 OHV
xeroinfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:25 PM   #3
sidelinellc
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: suffield, Connecticut
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

thanks for gettin back to me. It was scanned with my snap-on brick. the boots were replaced. I'm thinkin vacume but i can't figure how low vacume would cause it to skip and buck. It will alwase do it if i use cruise. I have checked and rechecked the lines, everything appears normal. Anybody else in hear ever have this issue? thanks again, rich
sidelinellc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 01:01 PM   #4
sidelinellc
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: suffield, Connecticut
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

....one more note, it only does this while at cruising speed once warmed up. above 60 while in 5th. drove it today without cruise and it will buck, just not as noticable. you really have to search to here/feel it. with cruise on, your riding a bull!!...thanks again
sidelinellc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 04:30 PM   #5
xma1080
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: bolingbrook, Illinois
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

replace the spark plugs, and make sure they are gapped right, if that doesnt help check the wires.
xma1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 05:29 PM   #6
xeroinfinity
out saving the world
 
xeroinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Yourtown, Indiana
Posts: 10,698
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Re: 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

xma1080, if you had read the earlier posts you would see that his car is a Quad 4 which has no "wires", they use boots.

Also his issues are only when the cruise is used, so I would say the problem is within the cruise system or its wiring.

Also thiers many things besides plugs and wires that can cause a car to misout at highway speeds.
Bad fuel, clogged injectors, clogged fuel filter, bad injectors or thier harness wires.
__________________
1999 Grand Am SS 3.4 OHV
xeroinfinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 05:37 PM   #7
xma1080
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: bolingbrook, Illinois
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: 96 appears to missfire when cruise is used

ok, my bad for not reading.
xma1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Pontiac > Grand AM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts