Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Toyota > Camry/Camry Hybrid/Vista
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 11-17-2016, 06:31 AM   #1
Zephned
AF Newbie

Toyota Camry 1985 running rich, carburetor issues

My Toyota Camry 85 is having trouble idling, i fear that some of the ajustment screws on the carburetor have gone missing. I am not a car expert in any way, so i hope i can reach out to someone who is.

Attached pictures:
Right side of the engine (from the front)
The engine itself
Information about the engine
The 2 screws that i fear are missing, this is on the right side of the carburetor

Should there be 2 screws there to regulate the air/fuel mixture?
and if so, where can i get some..?

Thanks in advance

-Zephned
Zephned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 07:07 PM   #2
Brian R.
Resident Chemist

Send a message via Yahoo to Brian R.
Re: Toyota Camry 1985 running rich, carburetor issues

Your mixture is not controlled by screws, but by non-adjustable jets inside the throat. Only the idle mixture is controlled by a screw. Those holes don't look like holes for an adjustment screw. Are either of the holes threaded?

When you start the car, before you turn the key, you should push the gas pedal to the floor once and then take your foot off to set the choke (flap on top of carburetor). Once the engine is started, the choke should gradually open fully and be fully open when the engine is at operating temperature. Make sure your choke is fully open when the engine is hot.