Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Cadillac > Eldorado
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 04-13-2012, 01:43 PM   #1
foul_owl
AF Newbie

Question 1981 Eldorado Biarritz Electrical Issues

Lights have been flickering, console lights have been flickering and not working, stereo would turn off when engaging turn signal or windshield wipers, so clearly something screwy was going on.

Then the other night when I was driving home, the power went out completely. Lights won't work, car won't start, nothing electrical works. Today is the first chance I will have to look at it, but I am new to automotive work. Here is what I am going to do:

1. Measure battery voltage with multimeter
2. Measure if there are voltage drops across ground connections
3. Measure continuity of all fuses

What else should I test here? Any tips on figuring out where wires go/taking apart panels to access wiring harnesses? Could this just be a blown fuse? What about a fusible link? Is that a possibility? Is there a way I can start the car so I can bring it back to my driveway? What sort of electrical problem would cause the car to turn off entirely, and furthermore, how can I prevent this from happening in the future? I shudder thinking about this happening on the highway.

Thanks a ton!!
foul_owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 04:04 PM   #2
gmtech1
AF Enthusiast

Re: 1981 Eldorado Biarritz Electrical Issues

You're on the right track. Check battery cables/connections, check battery ground. If there is a power wire from the battery to a fuse block, check that. Check for power at fuse block. Also check cables to starter, and like you said, check for burned fusable links.