Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2018, 11:26 PM   #1
84ranger
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Davison, Michigan
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need help with a teleflex tachometer

I recently installed a teleflex tachometer. When I turn the key, it jumps to 1600 rpm (Engine not running). On the back there are three holes labelled C4, C6, and C8. Inside these holes there is an adjuster with a slot for a flat head. I have a 2.8l cologne v6. So can I adjust this or is the tach junk?
84ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 08:05 AM   #2
shorod
SHO Off
 
shorod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 10,588
Thanks: 64
Thanked 269 Times in 262 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

Do you have an installation manual for the tachometer? From your description it sounds like there are three separate holes and each hole has a potentiometer in it. Is that correct, or is it one adjuster that has three positions? If this is a universal tachometer C4, C6, and C8 should relate to selecting the number or cylinders of the engine, but I'm not sure why they would appear to be adjustment potentiometers for each one unless there is another switch or jumper to select the cylinder count.


-Rod
shorod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 09:50 AM   #3
84ranger
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Davison, Michigan
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

I do not have a manual for it, but you're correct about it having three different holes with adjusters. Theres a seperate switch for the number of cylinders the engine has, which is unrelated to the adjusters.
84ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 11:37 AM   #4
shorod
SHO Off
 
shorod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 10,588
Thanks: 64
Thanked 269 Times in 262 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

Hmm, maybe each cylinder count setting can be calibrated separately. I assume you have switch set for a 6 cylinder and still have the high reading at idle. If that's correct, you can probably dial the potentiometer until you get the correct reading.



Do you have a model number for the Teleflex tachometer that you wouldn't mind sharing?


-Rod
shorod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 11:51 AM   #5
84ranger
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Davison, Michigan
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

It looks like the model number is 401102. There is a second number that says "24 31", but I believe that's just a time stamp. When I search up the model number, nothing comes up. Ill try adjusting the potentiometer when I get home, if that works I'll get back to you
84ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 02:04 PM   #6
shorod
SHO Off
 
shorod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 10,588
Thanks: 64
Thanked 269 Times in 262 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

Yeah, I'm not having any luck finding any reference to that part number or any Teleflex tachometers that seem to have multiple potentiometers versus a single Cal potentiometer.


-Rod
shorod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 06:25 PM   #7
84ranger
AF Newbie
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Davison, Michigan
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

I tried adjusting the potentiometer and no luck. So i took it apart and found a model no. on the motherboard, 40015.
84ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 10:22 AM   #8
aleekat
AF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: clarksville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 1
Thanked 142 Times in 138 Posts
Re: Need help with a teleflex tachometer

__________________
Post back, that's what makes Forums Work.
aleekat is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts