Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio
Car Audio Do you live in your car? Then you need to be able to listen to some high-quality music.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2014, 02:46 PM   #1
010175
AF Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Poway, California
Posts: 334
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Radio in trunk and need to control it? Age 61

I purchased a sony 3100 and installed in the trunk of my 62 Cadillac. It said remote control and Bluetooth. Of course I saw the remote control and said this was what I needed. Well as you know already the remote control only works with line of site. so now I have to pull over and lift the trunk lid to turn on or off or adjust the sound. This sucks. My question, is their a way to control the in the trunk radio or must I move it. I just want to work my radio. Ideas or help? Thanks Dave
010175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 07:20 AM   #2
PaulD
Audio Guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 4,704
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PaulD Send a message via Yahoo to PaulD
Re: Radio in trunk and need to control it? Age 61

I do you want the radio in the trunk ?
PaulD is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulD For This Useful Post:
010175 (06-03-2014)
Old 06-03-2014, 08:24 AM   #3
010175
AF Regular
Thread starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Poway, California
Posts: 334
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Radio in trunk and need to control it? Age 61

Paul, I have done the installment already in the trunk. Their is no other place I really want it. I don't want it visible. You cant hide it under the seat or dash as their is no room. I don't want to dismantle the glove box. I was hoping I could use a plug and play if fix my problem. A remote with a cord or a IR remote that plugs in the sony. I don't want to start dismantling the radio. If I could control the on/off and sound/station via my IPhone and Bluetooth. Ideas? Thanks Dave

010175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 07:12 AM   #4
PaulD
Audio Guy
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 4,704
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via AIM to PaulD Send a message via Yahoo to PaulD
Re: Radio in trunk and need to control it? Age 61

Will this work ? I think it plugs into the plug for the CD changer http://www.amazon.com/Sony-RMX60M-Co.../dp/B003KZJYBS
PaulD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 01:39 PM   #5
charlespe
AF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Colombo
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Radio in trunk and need to control it? Age 61

fry open your remote and find the infrared led and cover the leads with a electrical tape. Also take a piece of tin foil and form it around the area behind where the IR led sits.
This article can give them more information http://www.solocigars.com/blog/molds-from-the-cigars/

Now the range is a bit increased

Last edited by charlespe; 07-31-2014 at 11:53 AM.
charlespe is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

POST REPLY TO THIS THREAD


Bookmarks
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Car Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Community Participation Guidelines | How to use your User Control Panel

Powered by: vBulletin | Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 
 
no new posts