Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Impala | Impala SS
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 11-25-2014, 01:42 PM   #1
cupitr
AF Newbie

No accelerator response, progressively worse.

2003 Impala 3.4L

Thanks for any info. I have a very specific problem with detailed on information on whats been happening. Im just starting to learn about the PCM and its components so any info would be great.

Situation

1. Driving car daily, CEL came on and there was a very high pitched squeal from under the hood when at high RPM. Less power than normal and low gas mileage.

2. I was forced to run at high RPM because the car wouldn't maintain any speed at low RPM (would downshift). Driving the car like this one day, the engine was shaking very hard when trying to get it to shift and i could barely get to 80km/h. Eventually this caused the CEL to start flashing so I stopped driving immediately.

3. The car started and idled fine at home the next day without having made any changes.

4. Suspect plugged fuel filter / lines. Replaced fuel filter, run fuel inj. cleaner through. Problem still happening.

5. Suspect plugged Catalytic conv. Drilled a hole immediately before the Catalytic conv. and im currently driving the car like this. Car drives better than it was before doing this. The car still has less accelerating power than it did before, still makes the high pitched squeal when at high RPM but it doesn't shake and I can maintain 100km/h without over-revving.

I'm looking for any info on what could be happening. I'm not worried about upcoming emissions tests, as I just need it for the next couple months.
-Cut out cat completely and attach straight pipe?