Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Buick > Century
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 03-31-2016, 02:12 PM   #1
sharpiestories
AF Newbie

95 Buick Century Rough Idle - Battery??

This is my first time ever posting about my car!

My grandpa's old wood paneled station wagon is sick. The idle seems to be getting rougher and rougher with every time I kill the battery (I've somehow left my headlights on four times in the past two months and needed a jump). It's to a point now where if I don't throw it in neutral at stop lights and keep a tiny bit of gas on the engine it stalls out.

Notes:
*When it first gets jumped after being dead, if I stop even for a second, it dies instantly.
*While cruising - it is fine.
*It idles smoother stopped in neutral than it does stopped and in drive.
*It seems a bit rougher with the engine is cold, but still rough and can stall with the engine hot.
*Some random times it idles just fine (like for example the first few seconds on start up, and then it sounds like the engine is decreasing in rpm automatically, and then it is rough again).

Could the dying battery and rough idle be related?? The battery guy says "if it starts fine, the battery is fine" (it does start fine, although keeping the radio on for 20 minutes without it running will kill it).

Also other problems with my car in case this has anything to do with it:
*I have a leaky tail pipe
*my ABS has recently been randomly engaging at low speeds (next problem to work on...)

Ideas??? Thanks!
sharpiestories is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 03:31 PM   #2
Stealthee
Your worst nightmare

Re: 95 Buick Century Rough Idle - Battery??