Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > Windstar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 06:14 PM   #1
WindstarMommy
AF Newbie

2000 3.8-Neutral SftySw-Is this the shaft?

Hi, all.

I am a mommy newbie who has been working on "Big Burgundy" (my Windstar's name) all by myself. I have camped out in these forums and with all the knowledge I have learned from you all I have managed to replace spark plugs,fuel filter, starter, alternator, battery and a list of other things all by myself! THANKS!

Now...on Christmas Day my CEL came on I had already bought an Actron OBDII scan tool and was kind of excited that now I finally get to use it but doggone it I was worried too! It was the code (I can't remeber it now as I sit here and type) for the Transaxle Range Sensor/neutral safety switch (p07075 or something).

I bought a new one and it is waiting to be put on. I saw the video that was suggested here: http://www.automotiveforums.com/vbul...+safety+switch and figured OK, easy.

In the video he did not talk about a lever to get off 1st (photo1 below). I finally got that off with about 1/2 can of WD40 and 12 hours of letting it sit. Now I get to this piece (photo2) that is currently sitting under more WD40 waiting for an answer from you all on what to do. Is photo2 (below) the actual SHAFT that I need to pull the switch of off? I cannot pull the switch off as it stands now. I will try tomorrow after the WD40 soaks in overnight. I have already assumed it was another nut and tried to remove it. AARRRGGHH! Now the Switch has twisted and not lined up and my PINK nail polish marks have worn away with the WD40.