Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Engineering/Technical
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Engineering/Technical Ask technical questions about cars. Do you know how a car engine works?
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 04:15 PM   #1
no-sweat
AF Newbie

Question Brake rotor replacement

So one of my rear brakes was making a noise and yadda-yadda. Long story short I ended up replacing both rear rotors and brake pads. After they were all done, the guy told me I should really get the front ones replaced too because they would wear the back ones down (making the $250 I just spent pointless). Is there any truth to this? I'm no expert but I examined all four rotors and I could visibly see the back ones were pretty bad which is why I only replaced them. Any advice?

And on a completely unrelated topic, is it true that using your air conditioning doesn't use more gas? My girlfriend said they did it on Mythbusters and they concluded using A/C does not use gas!

Thanks guys!!

p.s. I have a 2004 Pontiac Grand Am GT with front wheel drive... if that matters.
no-sweat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 04:29 PM   #2
00accord44
High on Potenuse

Send a message via AIM to 00accord44 Send a message via MSN to 00accord44 Send a message via Yahoo to 00accord44
Re: Brake rotor replacement

I think that guy was trying to upsell you. Your front brakes do 70% of the work when braking anyway so I don't see how the fronts would wear down the frears.