Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Nissan > 240Z | 260Z| 280Z | 300ZX (Past Z Cars)
240Z | 260Z| 280Z | 300ZX (Past Z Cars) The original Z cars - ones that started it all.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 11-24-2005, 07:12 PM   #1
MikeMan
Banned

Send a message via ICQ to MikeMan
Z car troubleshooting

Hey guys, I thought I'd create a thread that can perhaps go sticky that we can all add troubleshooting tips and tricks to to help newbies with their zeds. My posts will be specifically for the z31 and z32 as I have had no experience with the earlier zeds but anyone who wants to add anything for these models, feel free!

I think before I continue I should let everyone know that YOU WILL DIE IF YOU DON'T TAKE PROPER CARE. UNDERSTAND THE OPERATION OF THE ENGINE BEFORE ATTEMPTING ANYTHING. Fuel air mixtures do explode. High voltages do arc. Gears and pulleys do catch fingers. This post is only meant as a basic summary of troubleshooting procedures that I have personally performed. I have performed each and every operation I've listed here without personal harm but I may have just been lucky. If you have any doubts, take it to a mechanic. All operations listed here are dangerous and shouldn't be performed if you are unsure you can safely perform it, or if you don't have proper protection. Use your head.

Also, a great resource is the service manual. There is an excellent Haynes one for the z31 and there is an official nissan one for the z32.