Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Cars in General
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-30-2017, 08:29 PM   #1
18frszymanski
AF Newbie

Post Project car time? Lets give out some advice!

Hello, I'm new to the whole "car forum" deal so excuse me if I do not get back to you right away or have issues navigating the site. Never the less, I'm here to help others and try to give advice. So my first post on here is maybe for the younger people like I was at one point (and kinda still am). Also the older guys (older than me lol). So here I was brought to write this post. Project cars. Yes, the age old topic. The once cheap, easy, and very fun hobby (or job if you're lucky one day). Its still fun don't get me wrong, but its dying! As the older generation leaves us we begin to see less and less cars built by hand stay with us and more cars built by a shop begin to enter the streets. I've never turned my cheek at a bought car that's been juiced up by a shop compared to a beautifully hand built tuner, street rod, drag car, etc.. I digress, kids entering our new generation are becoming scared I'd like to call it to dive into a project car. That's my opinion as a simple google search doesn't give me a easy to read graph of the generations wanting to build a car themselves, sadly. However this should not be the case. Lets give an example, of myself. I was 17 years old. Never had a single family member to introduce me into cars. Never had someone to show me how to torque a bolt down to stock specs. Never had someone to show me how to drive a stick. Never had someone show me how to do body work. Never... Ok you get it. I had the short end of the stick. I turned 17