Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Saab > General Discussion
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 01-13-2006, 03:00 PM   #1
mbunakeith
AF Regular

warning to 99-2003 9-3 and 9-5 owners

i am a saab technician and i just want to let you know what we have been finding out lately. 99'-2003 9-3's and 9-5's are experiencing engine failures, noises and oil problems. at my shop we conclude it is because f a few things. most notably that the oil change interval is too short. saab recommends semi-synthetic oil for these cars and t change it and the filter every 5k miles. i dont think that is a good idea. we are seeing many, many of these cars with huge sludge problems. the problem is either oil breaking down prematurely, oil being cooked by catalytic converter (located directly underneath oil pan), or that 5k miles is too long to wait to change oil. i recommend that EVERY saab owner switch to full synthetic oil and change it every 5k miles. if you dont want to switch to full synthetic, stick with semi-synthetic and go back to 3k mi. oil change intervals. we have had many engines with internal parts just coated with thick, nasty tar. these cars either have all or some of the following symptoms: oil pressure light on/flickering, timing/balance chain noise (rattling), broken rods, oil consumption, buzzing noise from oil cavitating. on all of the cars we look at, there is a problem with sludge and most have stuck to the owners manual for service intervals. this stinks big time. because we love these cars. spread tha word. up those oil changes. we really need sombody to come up with a way to shield the oil pan from the heat of