Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Chevrolet > Corvette
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Corvette
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 07-08-2005, 09:46 AM   #1
Turley
AF Newbie

1978 dies at idle...after highway speeds

Total noob here....
Working on a 79' that dies at idle, but only after running on the highway for 15-20 min. If you fire it up, and drive around town, it'll run all day.
Hit the highway for 20 min or so, get off said highway, say approaching a stop sign, car will die. It will eventually restart, but run very rough the
entire time, needing to blip the throttle to keep it running. It's an automatic, so this gets tough on the tranny & brakes. Lately, even this won't help, it'll just die. Let the car sit for a couple hours, it'll restart fine and run fine.
I'm thinking some type of timing issue? The vaccuum advance weights
down in the distrib. not releasing properly when kicking down from highway speeds?
The car belongs to a buddy, and I'm getting off on working on it. I'm gonna have to get one of these cars, and working on his is very cool.
BTW, the temp gauge doesn't read high at all. Car is not overheating.
Fuel system/Carb issue? I'm at a total loss, and hoping to get some guidence. Thanx for any input!

Jack
Turley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 05:56 PM   #2
89IROC&RS
AF Fanatic

Re: 1978 dies at idle...after highway speeds