Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Ford > F Series
F Series Forum covers questions and discussions regarding Ford F-150, Ford F-250, Ford F-350, Ford F-450, Ford F-550, Ford F-650, and Ford F-750.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 11-03-2018, 08:59 PM   #1
OldFordMama
AF Newbie

Question Inherited classic truck

Hello, I inherited a 1964 Ford F350 dually with a flat bed when my grandfather passed... I always wanted this truck but never got much out of him regarding it. I am still learning all its details, it has been untouched for 22 years, parked out in all weather. What would be the first move to get it road worthy? I have never done a restoration before. I just want it functional, not show worthy. What are the best sources for parts? Any advice is appreciated!

Last edited by OldFordMama; 11-04-2018 at 03:42 PM.
OldFordMama is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to OldFordMama For This Useful Post:
JonasM (01-29-2020)
Old 11-03-2018, 09:34 PM   #2
aleekat
AF Enthusiast

Re: Inherited classic truck

Engine is probably seized from rust, ie rings to the cylinder walls. You could put some marvel mystery oil in the plug holes. probably need to let it sit at least a week. Then try to turn it over by hand. the wiring is probably shot, brakes frozen, etc. Mice made a home in it. You got a lot of work. And that's not even considering the tranny, suspension, etc.
OldFordMama (11-04-2018)
Old 11-04-2018, 06:36 AM   #3
OldFordMama
AF Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by aleekat View Post