Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Automotive Art > Car Modeling
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Car Modeling Share your passion for car modeling here! Includes sub-forum for "in progress" and "completed" vehicles.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 04-13-2002, 08:14 PM   #1
drunkensurgeon
AF Newbie

Unhappy How long will it take me to get brain damage from modeling?

Hello,

My first post, long time lurker. Great forum. Anyway, so far, I've been building for 3 months, and completed 6 cars. I started using automotive paint for the last three bodies while wearing one of those 50 cent cheap dust masks. I spray outside or in the garage, with the door open. Unfortunately, these masks don't seem to be too effective, for I've been having headaches a couple mornings after spraying for about 30 minutes. Also, the scratch remover I use for rubbing compound actually gives me the most headaches. Now, my question is: has my brain damage started kicking in already? Or does it take years of this sort of irresponsible behavior to notice the symptoms. If my brain has already started melting, is it irreversible? I've only had headaches so far, and I don't feel any more stupid than before, nor do I have mood swings (I'm a strongly mono-emotional guy). This really scares me because I will really need my brain for the rest of my life, especially with 8-10 more years of schooling left for me. I'm seriously considering calling it quits if these paints are as hazardous as I fear them to be. I will be using heavy duty respirators, goggles, etc. from now on if I do decide to continue modeling. I'd really like to know your experiences, if any, and if you know the answ