Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

From Russia with love :))))

EvoVI
04-17-2003, 01:14 PM
So i'm working on Impreza WRC 2001. As you all understand i need to paint it in Mica Blue, but here there is a problem we can have it only as spray, but i use airbrush and i just hate sprays. So what to do, i thought of several ways:

1) To get the paint out of can and fill in the airbrush.(haven't tried yet)

2) Try to make Mica Blue myself, i tried this way i mixed X4 and X11 the color was right but "unstable" the paints didn't want to mix X11 always tried to appear over X4, i worked as a blender :) but it was the same shit right on the model.

So, what to do? If you say: "Idiot just spray it!" I'll kill myself :)

But anyway, is it absolutely necessary to spray a primer first(i talk about the body)?

Oh i fogot to introduce myself - it's my first post. My name is Rostislav or just Slava, i'm from Russia, Moscow and i'm 24 years old.

Lownslow
04-17-2003, 01:17 PM
i can answer the first and last one

1)get a straw or pipe of some kind tape it to the cars nozzle ands spry into airbrush jar.

yes,you have to use the primer

integra818
04-17-2003, 01:20 PM
WELCOME TO AF :jumpie:

Just one questiuon, is'nt it too cold to spray in Ruissia?

Hope to see your impreza ...

DAS-FEE-DONN-YA :wave:

EvoVI
04-17-2003, 01:45 PM
Yow man, Russia is not a North Pole we've got a temperature 2-3 degrees lower than in central Europe (usually) :) :) :)

Thank you guys! Any more advice?

NoBrakes
04-17-2003, 01:52 PM
Welcome to the board, hope to see your impreza soon.... sorry but i canґt help you with the mica blue.

Cheers

Jay!
04-17-2003, 02:10 PM
A very good tutorial on extracting paint from spray cans, written by member freakray:

http://www.briansmodelcars.com/tutorials/tutorial.asp?TutorialID=3&CurPage=1

Guido
04-17-2003, 03:30 PM
Welcome Slava.

Everything has been said.

1. spray paint in jar, then airbrush - that's what I do