Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

I need advice for a Cobalt LS 2007

Saranael
01-30-2010, 02:01 PM
Hey,

Im a student and my budget is short. I found a car on ebay, a private seller put up a 2007 Chevy Cobalt LS Coupe 2D for auction with $6,000 Buy-it-now option. I called him and asked about the reserve, which was $5,000. So I came to a deal and he said he would sell me the car for $5,100 including a 3-year warranty good for 50,000 more miles. The odometer read $50,000miles.
I met him together with a more experienced person than I am and we checked out the car.
It had an anti-rust device, was barely driven in the winter, passed inspection just recently, had an oil-change and brand new tires.
With the help of a ConsumerReports Magazine I checked many parts of the car and it seemed in incredible good condition. The test drive was really nice too and for a first car as a student with low budget I really liked it.
Now today was the day I was supposed to buy it. He called me this morning telling me that there is oil leaking into the motor and he doesnt wanna sell it in this condition.
So I met him and got my deposit back and he explained what happened. He also told me he will replace the engine with a brand new one (with receipt) and he still wants to sell it to me in 4 weeks with a brand new engine.
Of course I will want to verify this and have it checked out by a mechanic before I give him any cent.
On ebay the Autocheck score was 89 (green) and it showed absolutely NO bad things, no loans/ liens, damgages or anything!

My personal opinion is he knew about the problem but didnt expect it to happen so early so he wanted to sell cheap. Im just very doubtful about the expenses he is going to make with the new engine and he STILL wants to sell it for $5,100....

Can I have some advice please how to handle the situation?

Ray paulsen
01-30-2010, 08:42 PM
I like your post , but here are some issues that don't sit well with me