1995 Impala SS - Transmission Issues

LT1Silverhawk
01-04-2010, 01:45 PM
Hi All,

I’ve got two questions related to a transmission issue with my ’95 Impala.

The specs on the car are: 383 LT1, fully built 4L60E auto transmission, and a built rear end with 3.90 gears. I don’t have the specs or records on any of the builds as they were done by the previous owner who sold the car to a local shop after an accident.

Yesterday, I gunned the car from a slow start and then heard a loud bang. The car was no longer getting any power to the wheels. I brought the car to a safe stop, put the transmission into park, turned the engine off, and then restarted it. I shifted through the gears and found that the engine was revving fine but still no movement in any gear.

I’m a total rookie when it comes to transmissions but, between my neighbor and me, we think it is one of two things: the transmission is shot or the torque converter is damaged.

Second question is, should the transmission turn out to be no good, any ideas of a good replacement transmission? I’m considering a T56 swap but have not been able to find any posts on this site that discuss how to do it.

I must add that I am on a budget so if it turns out to be too much, I may have to just sell the car as is.

I had the car towed to a local shop for a diagnosis. In the mean time, I thought I’d try and pick the brains of all the smart folks here.

What do ya’ll think?

Thanks in advance for any help…

j cAT
01-04-2010, 07:10 PM
I would bring to a repair shop and have the tranny opened up and see exactly whats damaged..could be a simple part change that snaped like a pretzel.

since the tranny was working fine prior to this it should not need a rebuild..Also since it is possible that the tranny has non OEM parts it is possible this is the reason this bang suddenly occured..

post back with your findings..

LT1Silverhawk
01-04-2010, 07:27 PM