Ideal First Car?

Cycloptishred
12-13-2009, 12:48 AM
I'm a new driver and I'm wondering what your opinion is on the subject.

I currently own a 3rd generation honda accord with a manuel transmission and I'm saving up for something that would be more suited for a new driver. Although I really dont like automatic transmissions.

Thanks for the help.

Shpuker
12-13-2009, 12:22 PM
If you like a manuel transmission then thats great, you'll get better mileage and have more fun while driving. (not that an Accord is fun ;))

What kind of budget are you lookin at?

MagicRat
12-13-2009, 02:36 PM
The best car for the new driver is...... the one with the lowest insurance rates.

New drivers tend to get clobbered on insurance, until they get a few years of claim-free and accident-free driving behind them.
Such high rates are made much worse by driving a high-performance sports car and/or an expensive car, that costs a lot to repair.

An older car, one with 4 doors, a 4 cylinder engine, and a cheaper, widely available car all contribute to lower insurance rates.

Are you looking to buy a new car? What kinds of cars do you like, and in what price range? Also, what do you not like about the Accord, or why do you think it's not suited for a new driver?

akboss
12-14-2009, 10:01 AM
Good point on insurance. A few cars with great insurance rates are the Volvo S80, Chevy Impala, Buick LeSabre and Hyundai Santa Fe. What's wrong with the Accord?

NotoriousPhil
12-14-2009, 10:20 AM
For a first car honda or toyota are ideal aftermarket parts are in abundance which means cheaper repairs. Whats wrong with your accord anyways?

generalsoul
12-14-2009, 10:47 PM