Purchased Used Luxury Car Two Weeks, Already Transmission is Failing

PE#1
12-06-2009, 09:38 PM
I just purchased a used car a couple of weeks ago and already the transmission needs to be rebuilt.

Okay, on November 16th, 2009, I purchased a black 2002 Lincoln LS, four door, V8, black interior, with exactly 169,726 miles on the odometer at the time of purchase. In total, for the car, Michigan tags and plate, title fees, and taxes I paid a little over $4,000 in cash from a Used Car Dealership.

Before I purchased the car, I checked it out as thorough as I possible, according to my knowledge of cars. I’m no expert, but I know little things to look for (oil leaks, bad oil, exhaust, noises, rust, battery leaks). My uncle was present to give a second opinion. My uncle has more knowledge than I do about cars. I also ran a VIN number check using Experian AutoCheck (better than CarFax) and everything was clean.

The 2002 Lincoln LS I purchased according to Experian AutoCheck only had one previous owner, never been in any accidents, regular oil changes, no electrical failures and replacements, and no lien on the title. Everything was clean and clear according to the Experian AutoCheck VIN number report.

The only “visible” damage to the car was a scrape on the exterior paint by the rear passenger window on the right side of the car. That’s an easy fix and it’s not that big or dramatic; therefore, I wasn’t worried about it.

While test-driving the car I noticed a slight jerk a couple times while changing gears, but it stopped when I tried to do it again. Even though I considered that the front tire on the driver’s side was needed some air, I kept that in mind. I brought up the issue when I came back to the dealer to negotiate the price. The dealer (Mark) claimed to not have had any issue of the problem because he claimed to never have driven the car over 50 miles per hour.