Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Fuel Pump, Resister, PCM...will it ever end?

rv3
09-24-2009, 08:42 PM
So my 99 Regal GS (supercharged) stalled the other day. It didn't run rough prior to stalling, wife says it was just like the engine shut off smoothly. It would crank well, but not fire.
I'm no expert, so I had it towed to the local mechanic who I trust more than the others.
They said "...the fuel pump is pulling too much power and shorting out. after the fuel pump cools down we are able to restart the vehicle. need to replace the fuell pump, fuel filter and fuel pump relay."

So I shelled out the cash and got the car back. Then, hours later it stalled again exactly as before. This time, it started back up and ran fine for another 20-30 miles (then stalled, but started right up no problem...).
Also, wife says that she didn't feel like she got the same boost from the supercharger when she was driving faster than roughly 30-40 mph.
So I took it back to the mechanic, they said bad resister and changed the resister.
But the car continues to stall out (same stall, still starts right up). Now they're saying PCM.

less than 10K miles ago, MAF & crank shaft position sensors were replaced.
about 40K ago the ignition switch assembly was replaced.

So, I read things like the conclusion of this thread (last post...): http://www.automotiveforums.com/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-882953.html
...and I really can't help but wonder if the fuel pump had any problems at all.
Are there other conditions that could cause a fuel pump to draw too much power & short out?

richtazz
09-25-2009, 09:14 AM
What brand MAF sensor did you buy? If it's a Cardone reman, they are a very high failure rate part and it could be bad again.

Does the car die while cruising, or during hard accelleration?